INDIAN PHYTOPATHOLOGICAL SOCIETY NEW DELHI

Proceedings of the General Body Meeting held online on March 29, 2024 at 11.00 AM

Dr. Kajal Kumar Biswas, Secretary heartily welcomed Dr. D.K. Ghosh, President of the Society, and requested to chair the General Body (GB) meeting. He also welcomed all the members of the Society who have shown their keen interest to attend the online GB meeting. With the approval of the President, the Secretary proceeded with the agenda items.

The Secretary briefed the august house about the major decisions taken in the annual GB meeting of the Society held at ICAR-Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, on Feb, 2, 2024.

1. Office space for the Society at NASC Complex

As per decision taken in the Annual GB meeting, Dr. Dilip Kumar Ghosh, President, IPS and Director, ICAR-Central Citrus Research Institute, Nagpur; Dr. Kajal Kumar Biswas, Secretary, IPS and Principal Scientist & In-Charge, Plant Virology Unit, Division of Plant Pathology, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi; Dr. Malkhan Singh Gurjar, Treasurer, IPS and Senior Scientist, Division of Plant Pathology, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi; Dr. R. Viswanathan, Director, ICAR-IISR, Lucknow, U.P.; Dr. R. Selvarajan, Director, ICAR-NRC for Banana, Tiruchirappalli, Kerala and Dr. Bikash Mandal, ADG (IR), ICAR, New Delhi; met with the DG, ICAR, New Delhi on Feb, 26, 2024 and submitted request for allocation of office space for the Society at NASC Complex. Meanwhile a rented office space has been taken temporarily to run the day to day activities of the Society until allocation of space at NASC complex.

2. Court case related matter on the Indian Phytopathological Society (IPS)

GB has approved the High-level committee constituted to settle the legal issues. A meeting of committee members along with Plaintiff and Defendants will be conducted for amicable settlement.

3. Revision of Constitution and Byelaws of the Society

Based on the GB decision on the points for revision in the Constitution and Byelaws of the Indian Phytopathological Society (IPS), the documents for amendments/revision in the existing Constitution and Byelaws of the IPS, New Delhi have been submitted to the Registrar office on Feb, 29, 2024.

4. IPS Election 2024

As per GB decision, online election for the post of President-Elect 2024 was re-announced and conducted by the Society. Dr. Dinesh Singh, Head, ICAR-IISR, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh has been elected as President-Elect for 2024; Dr. Lakshman Prasad, Principal Scientist, Division of Plant Pathology, ICAR-IARI has been nominated as Joint Secretary for the 2024 & 2025; Dr. Durga Prasad Awasthi, Assistant Professor (Plant Pathology), Department of Plant Pathology, College of Agriculture, Tripura, Agartala, Tripura and Dr. Utpal Kumar Dey, Subject Matter Specialist (Plant Protection), Krishi Vigyan Kendra, (Central Agricultural University (I), Sepahijala, Tripura have been nominated as Zonal President and Councillor (NEZ) respectively for the year 2024.

Accordingly, New Executive Council of the Society constituted for the year 2024 is follows:

President : Dr. Dilip Kumar Ghosh, ICAR-Central Citrus Research Institute, Nagpur,

Maharashtra, India

President Elect : Dr. Dinesh Singh, ICAR-Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow,

India

Secretary : Dr. Kajal Kumar Biswas, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New

Delhi, India

Joint Secretary : Dr. Lakshman Prasad, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New

Delhi, India

Treasurer : Dr. Malkhan Singh Gurjar, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute,

New Delhi, India

Chief Editor : Dr. R. Viswanathan, ICAR-Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research,

Lucknow, India

Zonal Chapters

Zonal President (CZ) : Dr. B. Vidyasagar, College of Agriculture, PJTSAU, Hyderabad, Telangana,

India

Zonal Councillor (CZ) : Dr. G. Rajesha, ICAR-Indian Institute of Millets Research, Hyderabad,

Telangana, India

Zonal President (DZ) : Dr. Aundy Kumar, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi,

India

Zonal Councillor (DZ) : Dr. Nitika Gupta, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi,

India

Zonal President (EZ) : Dr. Someshwar Bhagat, ICAR-NRRI-Central Rainfed Upland Rice Research

Station, Hazaribag, Jharkhand, India

Zonal Councillor (EZ) : Dr. Amrita Banerjee, ICAR-NRRI-Central Rainfed Upland Rice Research Station,

Hazaribag, Jharkhand, India

Zonal President (MEZ): Dr. Prashant P. Jambhulkar, Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agriculture

University, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh, India

Zonal Councillor (MEZ): Dr. Rajesh Kumar Pandey, Bundelkhand University, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh,

India

Zonal President (NZ) : Dr. Pradeep Kumar, CSK Himachal Pradesh Agricultural University,

Palampur, Himachal Pradesh, India

Zonal Councillor (NZ) : Dr. Shikha Sharma, CSK Himachal Pradesh Agricultural University,

Palampur, Himachal Pradesh, India

Zonal President (NEZ) : Dr. Durga Prasad Awasthi, College of Agriculture, Tripura, Agartala,

Tripura, India

Zonal Councillor (NEZ): Dr. Utpal Dey, Krishi Vigyan Kendra, (Central Agricultural University (I),

Sepahijala, Tripura, India

Zonal President (SZ) : Dr. Shamarao Jahagirdar, University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad,

Karnataka, India

Zonal Councillor (SZ) : Dr. Venkatesh R. Kulkarni, AICRP on Cotton, Agricultural Research Station,

Dharwad, Karnataka, India

Zonal President (WZ) : Dr. Ramjibhai G. Parmar, Anand Agricultural University, Anand, Gujarat,

India

Zonal Councillor (WZ) : Dr. Naresh Kumar Gohel, Anand Agricultural University, Anand, Gujarat,

India

Meeting ended with vote of thanks by Dr. Malkhan Singh Gurjar, Treasurer, IPS.

Approved by the President, IPS

(Dilip Kumar Ghosh)

ZKChoch

President, Indian Phytopathological Society

President
Indian Phytopathological Society
Division of Plant Pathology
IARI, New Delhi 110012, India

Dated: March 29, 2024

(Kajal Kumar Biswas)

Secretary

Indian Phytopathological Society

STOPNINOLOGICAL STOPNINOLOGICA STOPNINO

डॉ. काजल कुमार बिश्वास Dr. Kajal Kumar Biswas सचिव/Secretary इंडियन फाइटोपैथोलॉजिकल सोसाइटी Indian Phytopathological Society पादप रोग विज्ञान संस्थान Division of Plant Pathology भाकृअनु.प.-मा.कृअनु.सं., नई दिल्ली-12, भारत ICAR-IARI, New Delhi-12, India